Faculty of Basic Sciences

     This faculty was established in 1385. Since 1380, it was active in the form of basic science complex. It presently has six majors in Bachelor’s degree involving molecular and cellular biology, microbiology branches, biotechnology, sea biology, geology, applied chemistry, and pure chemistry. In Master’s degree, the majors are sea biology, sea biotechnology, pertrohappylogy, environmental geology, organic chemistry, physical chemistry, chemistry-analytical chemistry, economic geology, sea life-sea animals, biology, and microbiology. In Ph.D. degree, the majors are biology, microbiology, and petrology.

A., M.A., and Ph.D. in Microbiology

     Molecular and cellular biology has different fields in molecular and cellular sciences, genetic, biochemistry, and biophysics. All of these fields are among the most popular majors in basic sciences area. Today major advances have been obtained in the field of molecular and cellular sciences especially in microbiology. This major basically pays attention to the recognition and importance of micro-organisms position in natural environments, their connections to the other living things specifically human beings and their applications in different industries.

     The main purpose of microbiologists is the familiarity with the role and function of microorganisms in causing diseases and their useful applications. Today the second role has been considerably paid attention in such a way that microorganisms are considered as the main tools in biotechnology in different fields and important commercial products such as enzymes, proteins, food additives are produced by them in different countries.

     Microbiology field as the first and the oldest majors of Islamic Azad University of Lahijan branch was established in 1367 and it has presently 26 years of activity in training specialized persons in the east of Guilan Province. The graduates of this major are presently working in service, educational, and research centers in B.A. and M.A. degrees in and out of country or are studying in Ph.D. degree. Ph.D. degree was established in the first half of the year 93-94 at Lahijan University.

 A. and M.A. in Sea Biology

     Sea biology department was established in 1384 and admitted 55 students in B.A. degree and more than 250 students have been graduated in this degree. In 1390, 16 students were admitted in M.A. degree in sea animals field. In 1391, sea biotechnology field in M.A. degree and in 1393 sea pollution field in M.A. degree were established and it has ten graduates and 33 students are studying in M.A. degree. The graduates of this major can easily continue all of their educational degrees until Ph.D. and can be employed in the Education, fisheries research organization, national oceanography center, marine deputyship of environmental organization, and marine biotechnology centers.

 A. and M.A. in Chemistry

     Chemistry department was established at the Islamic Azad University of Lahijan in 1382 and has presently 150 students in different degrees. The graduates of chemistry major in B.A. and M.A. can work in development, research, and quality control centers of different industrial and manufacturing factories such as pharmacy, washing materials, food stuffs, color production, industrial and edible oil, plating of metals, water refining, standard and petrochemical industry, the Education, and the other research and educational centers.

  A. in Biotechnology

     Biotechnology, as the key technology and the center of sustainable development with the history of thousand years, is one of the most important findings of man that addresses the problems of mankind in the third millennium. This educational department was approved in 1388 and presently has 173 students. The goal of this major is to train specialized and responsible experts. With respect to the establishment of sea biotechnology major in M.A. degree in this university, the possibility of continuing education has been provided for students in a higher degree. The B.A. period of biotechnology major is considered as the periods of basic sciences in the higher educational system that aims at training specialized and responsible experts for the industries of country, providing experienced specialists for research and educational centers, promoting and developing biotechnology science in the fields of agriculture, industry, oil, mass media, and mines.

Geology - B.A., M.A., and Ph.D. Degrees

     The geology department was established in B.A. degree in 1372 and since 1382 it has also established M.A. degree. Now it has four fields called petrology, economic geology, and environmental geology, and tectonics in M.A. degree and one field called petrology in Ph.D. degree.

  Lab Facilities

     Faculty of basic science has 18 specialized labs for different educational groups. Microbiology department has seven labs, chemistry group has seven labs, marine biology department has one lab, biotechnology department has one lab, and geology department has two labs. In the mentioned labs, basic lab facilities are available for M.A. students. In addition, facilities of Atomic Absorption (AA) devices, spectrophotometer, gas chromatography, measurement of melting point, isomenthol, refractometer, conductometer, cooling tower, packed distillation, extraction of liquid-liquid and solid-liquid, heat exchanger, infra-red spectroscopy, thermocycler, transluminator, three ocular camera microscope, electrophoresis, ELISA, incubator shakers, microbiology hood-level 2, microtome, refrigerated centrifuges, polarizing microscope, inverted light microscope, light microscope, and fluorescence microscope and loop.

 Faculty Members

     Faculty of basic science has 41 faculty members (geology=8, sea biology=4, microbiology=10, biotechnology=5, and chemistry=14). Out of these 41 faculty members, one is professor, two are Associate Professors, 25 are Assistant Professors, and 13 are lectures.